More 60-Second Tech
In recent months, Google has really pushed its Google Glass augmented-reality headset as a way to fully immerse yourself in the Internet. Fearing that such head-mounted displays will create a new class of distracted drivers, one state is pushing back.
West Virginia recently introduced a bill to make it illegal to drive while wearing a head-mounted display. Although it doesn’t mention Google Glass specifically, the bill would fine first-time offenders $100. The fine increases to $200 and $300 for the next two offenses. Then they start adding points to your license.
The problem, according to lawmakers, is that head-mounted displays project images across a driver’s line of sight. In the case of Google Glass, probably more distracting is that you have to look slightly to your right to see the tiny screen.
West Virginia is leaving nothing to chance. If passed, the law would go into effect July 1, several months before pairs of $1,500 Google Glass are available to most people.
In light of the legal ramifications, I believe that the best way to avoid being pulled over while wearing a Google Glass headset is to be sitting behind the wheel of a Google driverless car.
[The above text is a transcript of this podcast.]