Skip to main content

1994 results for"nobel prize"

Search Again  |  Advanced Search Options
  • Type OR between all the words you want: LHC OR collider
  • Put exact search phrases in quotes: "Mars Rover"
  • Filter search results use the options below

Double Nobel Prize Winners

New Nobel Laureates are being announced this week, but a select few scientists have two Nobel Prizes on their mantles.

October 3, 2006

2011 Nobel Prize in Physics

Saul Perlmutter, Brian Schmidt and Adam Reiss share the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics for their observations that type Ia supernovae indicate that the expansion of the universe is accelerating. Steve Mirsky reports

October 4, 2011

Meeting of the Minds at Lindau

This year's Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates, which focused on physiology or medicine, brought together Nobel Prize winners and young researchers from around the world

July 29, 2011

Head Banging Ig Nobel Prize

One of this year's infamous Ig Nobel Prizes went to researchers who study how woodpeckers bash their heads all day without ill effect.

October 10, 2006

2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to Daniel Shechtman of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology for the discovery of quasicrystals--infinite, non-repeating ordered materials. Steve Mirsky reports

October 5, 2011

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Thomas Steitz and Ada Yonath for studies of the protein-manufacturing ribosome, with implications for antibiotic development. Steve Mirsky reports

October 7, 2009

Ig Nobel Prizes Awarded

On the eve of the Nobel Prize announcements, the Ig Nobel Prizes were awarded at Harvard, for studies into knuckle-cracking and other vital medical and scientific research. Karen Hopkin retorts

October 2, 2009

Chemistry Nobel: Keeping DNA in Good Repair

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar for discoveries of the mechanisms by which cells maintain the integrity of their DNA sequences 

October 7, 2015 — Steve Mirsky

Physics Nobel: Neutrinos Do Have Mass

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics goes to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass

October 6, 2015 — Steve Mirsky

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

The 2009 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine goes to Harvard's Jack Szostak, Johns Hopkins's Carol Greider and Elizabeth Blackburn at U.C. San Francisco, for their work on telomeres and telomerase. Steve Mirsky reports

October 5, 2009

Friends & Family Savings Event

Special 20% off most items on our site. Limited-time only!