ADVERTISEMENT

Under the Spell of the Black Sun [Slide Show]

Images of the solar eclipse of March 29, 2006

1 of 10

CORONAL WINGSPAN

The corona around the eclipsed sun, seen here from Libya, has a diameter of at least eight solar radii.....[ More ]

STEP BY STEP

This is how the solar eclipse looked over Belbidi, Turkey.....[ More ]

SOLAR SICKLE

The narrowing solar sickle with groups of sunspots may be seen on this image taken at 9:33 Universal Time (4:33 A.M. Eastern Standard Time) in Side, Turkey.....[ More ]

DIAMOND RING

The "diamond ring" effect accompanied by light protuberances was seen shortly before the total eclipse.....[ More ]

REWIND

A second pearl necklace phenomenon became visible at the end of totality at 10:59 UT (5:59 A.M. EST). A few seconds later, the points of light appeared to meld into a thin sickle.....[ More ]

TIME'S UP

No sooner had the observers begun to take in this magnificent solar corona than the diamond ring announced the end of this unique spectacle.....[ More ]

ZOOM OUT

This photograph taken in Side, Turkey, during the total eclipse realistically reproduces the colors of the sky.....[ More ]

MAKING CONTACT

The diamond ring and the inner corona shortly before second contact , taken at Side, Turkey.....[ More ]

DEEP SHADOW

Originating in western Africa, the moon's umbra (shadow) sped toward the Mediterranean at a velocity of about 2,800 kilometers (1,700 miles) per hour. Ten thousand observers in Libya, Egypt and Turkey awaited the total eclipse with bated breath.....[ More ]

PEARL NECKLACE

At 10:55 Universal Time (5:55 A.M. Eastern Standard Time), a few seconds before totality, sunlight shone through valleys at the edge of the moon's limb. This amazing effect, a cosmic light show known as the "pearl necklace phenomenon" is seen here, along with fine protuberances.....[ More ]

risk free title graphic

YES! Send me a free issue of Scientific American with no obligation to continue the subscription. If I like it, I will be billed for the one-year subscription.

cover image Subscribe Now
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Share this Article:
Scientific American Dinosaurs

Get Total Access to our Digital Anthology

1,200 Articles

Order Now - Just $39! >

X

Email this Article

X